Once

There are a few movies I have encountered that have conjured up the same feeling that this film elicited.  Off the top of my head, those are Forrest Gump, Almost Famous and I Am Sam, which is the truest comparison due to its originality.  The feeling/question – where can I purchase the soundtrack?  The actors in this film, Glen Hansard (Guy) and Marketa Irglova (Girl), composed the soundtrack for this musical-like film.  There are only two words needed for me to critique this film: Simply Brilliant!  This film is a musical about a struggling street musician and a peddler, and was filmed on the cobblestones of Dublin.  The picture was filmed with what seems to be a handheld camcorder.  This genre, and forgive me for not knowing the technical name, aided in capturing the simplistic performance of this un-Hollywood style film.  Hansard and Irglova have a genuine on-screen chemistry, whether it be romantic or platonic, and their harmonies can be felt just the same.  I would certainly recommend this film, not only for the story, but for the excellent artistic work of Hansard and Irglova both on and off the screen.  I may even watch it again some day, but not now, as it is a truly romantic story.  I think I’ll go watch some baseball to balance out the emotions!  Overall: 4 out of 5, and I’m now off to iTunes to purchase the soundtrack!

~ by sgleas on January 29, 2008.

Leave a comment